Michigan Builders License is excited to offer state approved pre-license courses that meet the requirements for Continuing Competency. State law now requires you to prove that you have completed a specific number of Continuing Competency hours in order to renew your license. Our company is ready to assist you in this process and make it as simple as possible.
Is your company approved by the state to teach pre-license courses that meet the requirements for Continuing Competency?
We are approved by the State of Michigan under our school name of CBT Development Corporation. Our education provider number is 384.
I have been licensed for 10 years, shouldn't I be grandfathered from having to take Michigan Continuing Competency?
Regardless of how long you have been licensed, all contractors must complete a certain number of Michigan Continuing Competency hours to renew their license.
How many hours of Michigan Continuing Competency do I need to take to avoid losing my license?
The number of hours of Continuing Competency depends on the date your license was first issued.
Licensed before January 1, 2009: You will need 3 hours of continuing education every 3 years (before the license renewal date). These 3 hours must consist of 1 hour of codes, 1 hour of safety, and 1 hour of legal and law issues.
Licensed after January 1, 2009: You will need 3 hours of continuing education every year with a total of 21 hours every three years for the first 6 years of licensure.
Licensed after January 1, 2009 and have been licensed for more than 6 years: You will need 3 hours of continuing education every 3 years (before the license renewal date). These 3 hours must consist of 1 hour of codes, 1 hour of safety, and 1 hour of legal and law issues.
Can I just take all my Michigan Continuing Competency at one time or do I have to take a certain
number of hours per year?
You need to take at least 3 hours of Continuing Competency each license cycle. You also have to complete a
total number of Continuing Competency based on the date you first received your license. If you have been
licensed more than 6 years, 3 hours per license cycle is sufficient. If you have been licensed less than 6 years, you will need additional Continuing Competency hours above and beyond the 3 per year to meet the total requirement.
How long do I have to maintain records of Continuing Competency I have completed?
How do I prove to the state that I have completed my Continuing Competency requirements when I
renew my license?
After completing a Continuing Competency course, you will receive a completion certificate that shows the
number of hours of Continuing Competency you have taken.
Where can I take the Contractor Continuing Education Course?
Michigan Builders License offers one stop shopping for Continuing Competency. We have courses designed
specifically for the number of Continuing Competency hours you need. Our courses help you complete your
Continuing Competency in the shortest amount of time and the lowest possible cost.
Can I complete my Continuing Competency online?
Yes. We offer continuing competency classes online that meet the requirements for license renewal.
Once you complete the class online you will receive a certificate that proves you have met your continuing
Where can I get the most current dates and locations of the Contractor Continuing Education Courses?
Click here for current dates and locations of the Michigan Continuing Education Courses.
Call now! We are happy to answer any questions or register you for our next Michigan continuing education
course by calling 1-800-456-4020.